Japan Summer Programs (High School): Schedules

group-ghibli-museumYouth Immersion (14-18): (Tokyo E)
Description of Schedule
July 13-Aug 4, 2019 (3-week)
Culture Discovery: (A, B & C)
Description of Schedule
Tokyo-A: Jul 6-Aug 3, 2019 (4-week )
Tokyo-B: Aug 3-Aug 24, 2019 (3-week )
Tokyo-C: Jul 6-Aug 24, 2019 (7-week)

Youth Immersion(high school) (Tokyo-E): Description of schedule
Before your departure to Japan, you will received host family information and airport pickup information, trip leader contacts and pre-departure guide.
We will pick up students at the Tokyo Narita International Airport on the scheduled arrival day.  Group stays at a city hotel for group gathering and rest (hotel stay included in program fee).
Next day (Sunday), students meet host families at Opening Ceremony in Hotel, then go with the families to their house.
On Monday, host families will buy commuting pass (pass included in program fee) for you, take you to class and show you how to commute.   Placement test will be taken to determine your level and classes.
Classes official start on Monday. Below is daily class schedule:
10: 20 am-11: 05 am, 11: 15 am-12:00 pm, 12: 10 pm-12:55 pm, 2:00 pm-2:45 pm, 2:55 pm-3: 40 pm
Lunch hour is between 12:55 pm to 2:00 pm. After afternoon lessons, many students like to have their own time together in the city before going back to host family's house for dinner.   Students spend the evenings with the host family.
Teachers and trip leaders will monitor students arrival at classes, and host families will monitor students getting back to their house.  No language classes when group trip or culture activities is scheduled on that day, there are two day trips scheduled in the program, culture activities include calligraphy.
On weekends, host families will stay with students to show them Japanese culture, bring them to parties, family events, meet new friends and for trips they arranged.

On the last Friday, Sayonara party hosted at School, students showcase their learning and celebrate with the host families.
On Saturday, host families bring students to the city hotel for Closing ceremony and say good bye to host families, dining for the group in the evening.
On Sunday, we will send students to the airport for drop offs, and students fly back home.
(schedule maybe subject to change)
Back to top
Tokyo-E (14-18): Jul 13-Aug 4, 2019 (3-week)

Day Date AM PM
Sat Jul 13 Airport pickup/orientation/ group stay in hotel
Sun Jul 14 Opening ceremony & meet host family
Mon Jul 15 National Holiday (stay with host family)
Tue Jul 16 Placement test & Lessons Language activities
Wed Jul 17 Lessons Language activities
Thr Jul 18 Lessons Language activities
Fri Jul 19 Lessons Language activities
Sat Jul 20 Time with host family
Sun Jul 21 Time with host family
Mon Jul 22 Lessons Language activities
Tue Jul 23 Lessons Language activities
Wed Jul 24 Lessons Language activities
Thr Jul 25 Culture: tea ceremony Language activities
Fri Jul 26 Trip: Harajuku or Akihabara (all day)
Sat Jul 27 Time with host family
Sun Jul 28 Time with host family
Mon Jul 29 Trip: Visit Asakusa (all day)
Tue Jul 30 Lessons Culture: calligraphy
Wed Jul 31 Lessons Language activities
Thr Aug 01 Culture: Tea Ceremony Activity: skit
Fri Aug 02 Activity: skit Sayonara party
Sat Aug 03   Closing ceremony/hotel stay
Sun Aug 04 Airport dropoff

(schedule maybe subject to change),
Back to top
Culture Discovery: Description of schedule
Before your departure to Japan, you will received host family information and airport pickup information, and pre-departure guide.
We will pick up students at the Tokyo Narita International Airport on the Arrival day (Saturday).
On Monday, it is the day of orientation, but do not buy your commuting pass yet, as the classroom location will be determined by your level and you may have to get off from a different station nearby.  You will have the orientation session and take a placement test.
Depends on your level, you will attend either lessons in the morning from 9:10-12:40 pm, or in the afternoon from 1:30 pm or 5:00 pm. Lunch hour is between 12:40 pm to 1:30 pm.  Depends on the day, there is either culture activities or free time for the rest of the half day.
Saturday is usually organized day trips and Sunday is free.  At the end of the program (and middle of the program for Tokyo C), there is a three day long haul trip to either Fuji Mountain or Kyoto.  You will get back from the long haul trip on the last Friday and say with your host family for the last night.
On next day (Saturday morning), you will leave your host family's house to the airport, please note that airport drop off is NOT arranged.
(schedule maybe subject to change)
Back to top
Tokyo-A: Jul 6-Aug 3, 2019 (4-week )

Day Date AM PM
Sat Jul 6 Arrival/Airport pickup
Sun Jul 7 Free time
Mon Jul 8 Orientation/ Placement Test Free time
Tue Jul 9 Lessons Culture: Yukata
Wed Jul 10 Lessons Free time
Thr Jul 11 Lessons Culture: Handcraft
Fri Jul 12 Lessons Free time
Sat Jul 13 Trip: Tokyo tour (all day)
Sun Jul 14 Free time with your host family or friends
Mon Jul 15 National holiday
Tue Jul 16 Lessons Culture: Sushi Making
Wed Jul 17 Lessons Free time
Thr Jul 18 Lessons Trip: National Museum
Fri Jul 19 Lessons Free time
Sat Jul 20 Trip: Fuji Q Highland (all day)
Sun Jul 21 Free time with your host family or friends
Mon Jul 22 Lessons Free time
Tue Jul 23 Lessons Kyoto Orientation
Wed Jul 24 Lessons Free time
Thr Jul 25 Lessons Free time
Fri Jul 26 Lessons Trip to Kyoto
Sat Jul 27 Trip to Kyoto
Sun Jul 28 Trip to Kyoto
Mon Jul 29 Lessons Free time
Tue Jul 30 Lessons Trip: Tokyo Skytree
Wed Jul 31 Lessons Free time
Thr Aug 1 Lessons Buffet Lunch
Fri Aug 2 Graduation
Sat Aug 3 Departure

Back to top
Tokyo-B: Aug 3-Aug 24, 2019 (3-week )

Day Date AM PM
Sat Aug 3 Arrival/Airport pickup
Sun Aug 4 Free time
Mon Aug 5 Orientation/ Placement Test Free time
Tue Aug 6 Lessons Culture: Yukata
Wed Aug 7 Lessons Free time
Thr Aug 8 Lessons Culture: tea ceremony
Fri Aug 9 Lessons Free time
Sat Aug 10 Trip: Hakone (all day)
Sun Aug 11 Free time with your host family or friends
Mon Aug 12 Lessons Free time
Tue Aug 13 Lessons Trip: Ghibili Musuem
Wed Aug 14 Lessons Free time
Thr Aug 15 Lessons Trip: Akihabara
Fri Aug 16 Lessons Free time
Sat Aug 17 Trip: Yokohama / Kamakura (all day)
Sun Aug 18 Free time with your host family or friends
Mon Aug 19 Lessons Kyoto Orientation
Tue Aug 20 Lessons Free Time
Wed Aug 21 Trip: Kyoto, visit to a world heritage site,
"Kiyomini-dera", "Kinkaku-ji", etc
Thr Aug 22
Fri Aug 23
Sat Aug 24 Departure

Back to top
Tokyo-C: Jul 6-Aug 24, 2019 (7-week )

Day Date AM PM
Sat Jul 6 Arrival/Airport pickup
Sun Jul 7 Free time
Mon Jul 8 Orientation/ Placement Test Free time
Tue Jul 9 Lessons Trip: Edo Tokyo Musuem/Asakusa
Wed Jul 10 Lessons Free time
Thr Jul 11 Lessons Culture: Yukata
Fri Jul 12 Lessons Free time
Sat Jul 13 Trip: Tokyo tour (all day)
Sun Jul 14 Free time with your host family or friends
Mon Jul 15 Lessons Free time
Tue Jul 16 Lessons Trip: Ueno Zoo
Wed Jul 17 Lessons Free time
Thr Jul 18 Lessons Trip: Aquarium
Fri Jul 19 Lessons Free time
Sat Jul 20 Trip: Nikko, a world heritage site (all day)
Sun Jul 21 Free time with your host family or friends
Mon Jul 22 National holiday
Tue Jul 23 Lessons Trip: Tokyo Sky Tree
Wed Jul 24 Lessons Mt. Fuji Orientation
Thr Jul 25 Lessons Free time
Fri Jul 26 Lessons Trip to Mt. Fuji/Fuji-Q Highland
Sat Jul 27 Trip to Mt. Fuji/Fuji-Q Highland
Sun Jul 28 Trip to Mt. Fuji/Fuji-Q Highland
Mon Jul 29 Lessons Free time
Tue Jul 30 Lessons Culture show
Wed Jul 31 Lessons Free time
Thr Aug 1 Lessons Culture: hand craft
Fri Aug 2 Lessons Free time
Sat Aug 3 Free time with your host family or friends
Sun Aug 4 Free time with your host family or friends
Mon Aug 5 Lessons Free time
Tue Aug 6 Lessons Dessert Buffet
Wed Aug 7 Lessons Free time
Thr Aug 8 Lessons Culture: tea ceremony
Fri Aug 9 Lessons Free time
Sat Aug 10 Trip: Hakone (all day)
Sun Aug 11 Free time with your host family or friends
Mon Aug 12 Lessons Free time
Tue Aug 13 Lessons Trip: Ghibili Musuem
Wed Aug 14 Lessons Free time
Thr Aug 15 Lessons Trip: Akihabara
Fri Aug 16 Lessons Free time
Sat Aug 17 Trip: Yokohama / Kamakura (all day)
Sun Aug 18 Free time with your host family or friends
Mon Aug 19 Lessons Kyoto Orientation
Tue Aug 20 Lessons Free Time
Wed Aug 21 Trip: Kyoto, visit to a world heritage site,
"Kiyomini-dera", "Kinkaku-ji", etc
Thr Aug 22
Fri Aug 23
Sat Aug 24 Departure

(schedule maybe subject to change)
Back to top